Dave Phillips emerges victorious at the biggest Montane Summer Spine ever

The 2023 Montane Summer Spine event has seen Dave Phillips take the gold, in what was the 11th edition and most successful event to date after a record number of signups.

The Summer Spine race saw Phillips cross the line with a time of 76 hours 59 minutes, in what was the second fastest time ever recorded in the event behind Tiaan Erwee’s trailblazing performance last year. Peter Mortimer finished in second place, over 16 hours behind, with a time of 93 hours 12 minutes. Meanwhile, Jenny Yeo was victorious in the women’s event, finishing in a time of 101 hours 39 minutes, with Laura Swanton-Rouvelin in second place with a time of 109 hours 37 minutes.

Dave Phillips said: “I can definitely see why it’s called Britain’s Most Brutal race! Although the race was relatively lonely when you’re completely on your own, which means it can be difficult to push yourself at times, it was beautiful, and the volunteers were superb. I strangely don’t feel too bad at the minute, although my feet are in a bit of a state, which is to be expected! I was only able to sleep for around 10 or 15 minutes at a time, so I should really be exhausted now, but it usually takes a couple of days. I don’t have anything else planned currently, so for now I’m going to enjoy myself and relax a bit!”

The Summer Spine Challenger North crown was shared, with Tom Hill and Jovica Spajic crossing the finish line together with a time of 39 hours 45 minutes, while Eloise Eccles blitzed the field in the women’s event with a time of 56 hours 4 minutes, over 10 hours ahead of second-placed Katy McGowan.

The Summer Spine Challenger South was won by #TeamMontane athlete, Jon Shield, with a time of 27 hours 53 minutes, just under two hours ahead of Nathan Drinkwater in second place. The women’s event saw Mel Sykes claim the crown with a time of 32 hours 22 minutes, just under six hours ahead of second placed Rachel Harris

Speaking on his win, #TeamMontane athlete, Jon Shield, commented: ‘‘’Britain’s Most Brutal’ is definitely the correct slogan for this race, from the heat and humidity early on to the thunderstorm hitting as I went over Pen-y-ghent. The terrain is unforgiving and often exposed making it a savage race, but at the same time such an amazing experience!’

The Summer Spine Sprint resulted in victory for Rupert Allison, recording a time of 6 hours 59 minutes, over 2 hours 45 minutes quicker than runner-up Simon Gardner. The women’s event saw Hannah Rickman take the gold with a time of 8 hours 41 minutes, with Debbie Stevens over 40 minutes behind in second place.

Jenny Yeo after winning the Montane Summer Spine 2023 women’s event.

The Montane Summer Spine is a 268 mile, 156-hour (6.5 days) non-stop race from Edale to Kirk Yetholm, which sees participants navigate the Pennine Way on a series of varying race options, battling adverse and often extreme weather conditions, sleep deprivation, and challenging terrain.

Montane’s Marketing Director, Matthew Hickman, commented: “After the record-breaking races we witnessed last year, it was always going to be a tough event to follow, but the 2023 Montane Summer Spine definitely delivered. The race continues to grow bigger and better with each passing year and it’s amazing to see the growing number of athletes and participants pushing themselves to the limit in the relentless pursuit of finding their unknown.”

The news follows on from last year’s hugely successful event, which saw multiple records smashed, with Tiaan Erwee claiming the men’s course record in the Summer Spine Race, Anna Troup claiming the women’s course record in the Summer Spine Race, Tim Pigott claiming the men’s course record in the Summer Spine Challenger, Lauren Johnson claiming the women’s course record in the Summer Spine Challenger, and Hannah Slater claiming the women’s course record in the Summer Spine Sprint.

The Summer Spine Race is complimented by the Summer Spine Challenger North, a 160-mile race with a 96-hour time limit; the Summer Spine Challenger South, a 108-mile race with a 60-hour time limit; and the Summer Spine Sprint, a 46-mile race with an 18-hour time limit, with the quartet together forming the Summer Spine series. In addition, next year will see the inaugural Arctic Spine series which will take place in February, with further details soon to be announced.

Alongside the Spine Race series’, Montane also sponsors races such as the Montane Lapland Arctic Ultra (MLAU) and Montane Yukon Arctic Ultra (MYAU), the Montane Dragon’s Back Race, and the Montane Cheviot Goat Winter Ultra, amongst others.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button